top of page

Uldraak's Discoveries in Bolts & Arrows: Part 1

Today, I'm releasing my first creation. Uldraak's Discoveries in Bolts & Arrows is a list of homebrew magical ammunition that you may drop into your games. This is completely free, though I've added a link to my PayPal if you'd like to throw a buck my way!

Intent

With creating these items, I wanted to add some flair to shooting specialized ammunition. I figured some basics would do to start.

  • Blink Arrow: With this, the intent is pretty clear. I imagined an archer having 2-3 arrows in their bag for pesky long-range targets that are ducking in and out of cover. Seeing them from a distance, the archer would be able to make a shot that could circumvent this obstacle while still maintaining their distance.

  • Arrow of Injection: I personally don't see poisons get used a lot in D&D. I figured that this would be a way to encourage a PC to use them if they had the interest.

  • Splitting Arrow: I thought about how hollow-point bullets have a function where they spread out once making an impact with a target, thus causing more internal damage. However, it would have been a bit boring to just tack a +3 to the damage of the arrow. Instead, I thought that making the arrow adjustable to more damage, but having a targeting penalty would be a neat risk-reward factor.

  • Arrow of Torchlight: I've seen players try to light arrows on fire to serve as lights, but it ends up not quite cutting it. I figured this would be a really cool utility item that could still be used as a weapon in a pinch. After all, tagging an enemy with a glowing arrow would help with night-time or dark encounters.


You can download the file directly from here. Let me know what you like!

Uldraaks_Discoveries_In_BoltsNArrows_Doc
Download • 923KB

23 views0 comments
bottom of page